Xavier holds its 2019 Graduation Ceremony

  • Jun 17, 2019
  • By Daniel Moses

On Saturday, June 15, 2019, Xavier University School of Medicine held its twelfth Graduation Ceremony. This year’s festivities took place at St. John’s University in Queens, New York.


48 graduates took the stage to receive their coveted hoods and well-earned diplomas. These students have spent tireless hours in their studies, and it was wonderful to see them finally graduate. Graduates Natasha Sebastian, Valedictorian, Alana Keegan, Co-Salutatorian, and Albertina Sebastian, Co-Salutatorian had the honor of speaking to their fellow graduates and the audience during the ceremony. In the Valedictorian speech, Natasha reflected on her time in medical school at Xavier and challenger her fellow classmates to embrace the next steps in their medical journey as they officially become doctors. During the first Co-Salutatorian speech, Albertina spoke to and thanked all the people who helped her along the way including her family, friends and Xavier faculty. In the second Co-Salutatorian speech, Alana spoke about her journey through medical school and the importance of having a diverse education. These three students were honored with plaques to commemorate their successes.


Xavier was pleased to welcome back an alumnus to address the graduates: Dr. A. Aboud. Dr. Aboud who is currently at Michigan State University Hospital in a Family Medicine residency. Dr. Aboud spoke to the students and gave his personal advice on how they can best succeed in their futures, and how to be successful during residency. A few of the most important tips that he gave to the students were time management, becoming a quick learner and learning to adapt quickly, and being able to learn from and understand your struggles or any difficulties they might face. Xavier encourages alumni to continue their involvement with the University, and it was wonderful to welcome back Dr. Aboud for this special event.


Aside from students, Xavier was honored to have many dignitaries present for the event, including Chairman Edwin Casey, Chancellor Dr. J.G. Bhat, President Ravishankar Bhooplapur, Trustee Dr. Obi Nwasokwa, Trustee Dr. Anthony Shallash, Trustee Mr. Frank Croes, Trustee Dr. Ravindra Kota, Chief Academic Officer Dr. Arun Dubey, Dr. Ahmad Abazid, Vice President of Academic Affairs Dr. Richard Pestell, and Professor Neelam Dwivedi. Xavier also had the privilege of welcoming Dr. Neil Martin as the Keynote Speaker and Dr. Srikanth Hosur as the guest speaker.


Dr. Neil A. Martin, the keynote speaker at Xavier 2019 Graduation Ceremony, attended Yale University and earned his medical degree from the Medical College of Virginia. He completed his surgical internship and neurosurgical residency under the direction of Charles Wilson, M.D. at the University of California, San Francisco. Dr. Martin was with UCLA Neurosurgery for just over three decades. On July 1, 2008 Dr. Martin was appointed the first Chair of the Department of Neurosurgery at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA. Dr. Martin is transitioning to Danville, PA where he begins a new chapter having been appointed Director, Neuroscience Institute and Chief Quality Officer for Geisinger Health System. In his address to the students, Dr. Martin gave his own personal insights as to his own experiences in becoming a doctor. He spoke about how at times it can be difficult but it is also one of the most rewarding jobs, knowing that you can have such an immense impact in helping another person.  Xavier thanks Dr. Martin for attending.


The Guest speaker at Xavier’s 2019 Graduation Ceremony was Dr. Srikanth Hosur. Dr. Srikanth Hosur is the current Chief Medical Officer in the Geisinger Health system at Geisinger Community Medical Center located in Scranton PA. Dr. Hosur addressed the students and audience by speaking on the current state of the health care industry and some the technological advances that are taking place. He congratulated the students and their families on this remarkable achievement and wished them good luck in all of their future endeavors. Xavier was proud to have Dr. Hosur speak at our ceremony


Members of the Xavier Board of Trustees also spoke to the students and their friends and families in attendance and gave their advice for success in the future. Chancellor Dr. J.G. Bhat spoke about the growth that Xavier has achieved in the past decade, and how the University is committed to further this growth in the coming years. Dr. Bhat also reflected on his life in medicine and gave advice to all the students that will help them to achieve success in this profession.  Chairman Mr. Edwin Casey spoke on the topic of success, and mentioned how important it is to embrace all the people your lives who have helped you get to where you are today. Finally, President Ravishankar Bhooplapur addressed the audience by speaking about how much technology has changed the medical industry for the better and how it has helped these graduates. He also spoke on what a remarkable achievement this is for each and every one of the graduates and that they should continue their hard work and dedication in the next chapter in their medical journey.




Graduation is a special time for these students as we are all able to celebrate and reflect on all that they have achieved in their medical school journey he at Xavier. Everyone at Xavier is excited to see all the success that our students will have in the future and are proud to call them our alumni.


Xavier University School of Medicine 2018 Graduates:


  1. *Aanak Shah
  2. Aaron Walker
  3. Aditi Sarker
  4. Ahmad Faour
  5. *Ahmed Mahmood
  6. Akaz John
  7. *Alana Keegan
  8. *Albertina Sebastian
  9. Amer Sultan
  10. *Asma Toor
  11. Christopher Orlando
  12. Daniel Askarinam
  13. Darshan Bhatty
  14. Deepti Kalani
  15. *Ella-Marie Kabia
  16. Ernst Eliassaint
  17. *Farah Khan
  18. Gillian Buddington
  19. *Gopi Patel
  20. Grishma Jalemu
  21. Harbir Mandair
  22. Ingrid Martinez
  23. Jakarinya Mangalamoorthy
  24. Jenin Jose
  25. *Jude Akpede
  26. Julian Hao
  27. Junita Jose
  28. *Lauren Levy
  29. Maha Azhar
  30. *Mandip Mann
  31. *Margaret Gavor
  32. Megha Abraham
  33. Michelle Sadik
  34. Mina Thomas
  35. *Mohammed Ahmed
  36. Mohsin Altaf
  37. Nabil Ahmed
  38. *Natasha Sebastian
  39. Neveen Al-Atiyat
  40. Noor Al Saadi
  41. *Pouria Mohammadi
  42. Sara Philip
  43. Seung Eun Kim
  44. Sherelle Smart
  45. Shoyeb Patel
  46. Suha Qasem
  47. Urooj Firasat
  48. *Utkarsha Kothavade


* With honors